Cawthorn wins Dist. 11 runoff election

Madison Cawthorn

Republican Madison Cawthorn will advance to the North Carolina's 11th Congressional District race in the Nov. 3 General Election.

Cawthorn, on Tuesday (June 23), defeated Lynda Bennett by a sizable margin in the special runoff election over 17 WNC counties which now comprise District 11, according to

Cawthorn garnered 30,261 votes compared to 15,700 for Bennett with 312 of 314 precincts reporting. In Transylvania County, the 24-year old Hendersonville native out polled Bennett, 1,611-809.

Cawthorn is pitted against 61-year old Democrat Moe Davis in the General Election.